I Developed a Passion For Technology; You Can Too

While it may be daunting, technology is a highly-rewarding field that almost everyone should learn about

Thomas Molnar-Brock
7 min readMar 17, 2020
Code On Screen
Syntax Highlighting Makes Coding a Breeze

I started learning to code by following the introduction to JavaScript on Khan Academy just a few short years ago. What made me start? The idea just came to me. My life was lacking substance and I felt that the skills and aptitudes for technology that I had demonstrated in my early years could benefit the world and make me a more complete person.

Today I am a Computer Science student at Diablo Valley College in Pleasant Hill, California. I went from being an academically lacking and otherwise disengaged high-schooler with productivity problems to being at or near the top in almost all my classes. I excel at cracking difficult problems, helping my classmates understand, and tutoring children in both Math and Computer Science. I have a high GPA and am exited to transfer shortly to one of the Universities of California.

So you are probably wondering, how did I make such a sharp turn around from being a lacky to being a techy? The answer: I lit a fuse and ignited a long-dormant passion for complexity.

Early Days

--

--